Is Brooklyn Park Doomed?

August 3, 2016 at 9:42 am Leave a comment


By Andrew Richter

Folks, I have to be honest here. I’ve been no more then a lukewarm fan of the Brooklyn Park city council. I like Bob Mata. I like John Jordan. Peter Crema and Terry Parks I can tolerate. But, when I look at who is running for council this year I’m getting scared.

Take Susan Pha for example who is running for city council in the West District. She did an interview for the Hmong Times and why this lady is running and what she is saying is ignorant, idiotic, and downright racist.

Susan Pha decided to run for a spot on the Brooklyn Park City Council this fall after reading an article about local students visiting the council as a job shadowing experience.  She was disappointed when she saw the photo – seven students of diverse backgrounds and genders stood next to seven City Council members who were all white males. She was even more surprised given the fact that Brooklyn Park is actually a diverse community.

“I said, ‘I can’t believe it,'” said Pha. “I said to my husband, ‘That is not right.’ I know when I was growing up I often met people in leadership positons and I would come into a room and they all didn’t look like me – it crushed my dreams. As a kid I felt my dreams were unrealistic when none of them looked like me.

Talk about a racist! What only colored people can represent you? What if I said that a council was “too black” and we should vote for white people? Do you have a clue at what names I would be called? Why is the standard any different for Ms. Pha? I guess whites need not apply.

I’ll tell you it’s gets worse. listen to the answers to some of the questions she was asked;

How do you believe a city should spend its money?

I believe a city should spend its money to provide a good quality of life for all its residents by investing in schools, providing access to affordable higher education, growing good jobs with livable wages, supporting our local businesses to thrive, helping its aging residents attain access to healthcare and a chance to enjoy their retirement, creating beautiful community spaces and parks residents can enjoy, and more.

What? Invest in schools, provide higher education, and access to healthcare? Anyone tell her she’s running for city council not Congress? Talk about an ignoramus! The comments about a livable wage are really scary. This tells me Pha is a left-wing ideologue who wants to bring Minneapolis like policies to the suburbs. And someone tell me how you support a climate where businesses can thrive while supporting a livable wage?

What are your values regarding property taxes and levies?

Property taxes and levies are a necessary cost to residents for the sustainability of a city, but I believe in being conservative in our spending. We have to be watchful in all areas of cost to prevent wasteful spending. Affordable housing is very important to me, so keeping our property taxes and levies down play a big role in that. 

It’s not your job to manipulate home prices! Government should get the hell out of the real estate business!

What changes would you like to see in how the city of Brooklyn Park is run?

I’d like to see our city be more inclusive and representative of our diverse and multicultural residents. We have a very vibrant community of residents from all walks of life with very unique life experiences and a wealth of knowledge. I believe our diversity can be our strength if we embrace it.

In other words, I hate white people and don’t want them to serve.

Martin Luther King once said he wanted people judged not by the color of their skin but by the content of their character. I wonder what he’d think of this.

My friends, I’m telling you this lady isn’t the only kook running in Brooklyn Park, there’s more to come unfortunately.

Article

Entry filed under: Brooklyn Park, City Government. Tags: .

Opat Gives Crystal the Middle Finger Is ReNae Bowman Directing This at Me?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitter Updates

Archives


