Bidding Crystal Farewell

April 28, 2016 at 8:42 am 1 comment


By Andrew Richter

Well, things happen in life my friends and tomorrow brings another journey for me. I’ll be moving out of my home town of Crystal and invading Champlin. Honestly, I leave my heart and soul in Crystal and it’s tough to leave but things happen for a reason. I want to take some time to say goodbye and thank some people.

I have to start by thanking some people. I’ll start by thanking the people who got me involved in the first place; my tag team partner Jason Bradley and local activist Candace Oathout. They had the vision of a group that focused on local issues and began this journey long before I did. I wouldn’t be here without them for sure.

I’m extremely proud of our current mayor and City Council. A big thank you to my Ward 4 councilperson Julie Deshler. While we haven’t always seen eye to eye she is the most tireless volunteer anywhere, a friend, and a total asset to the city of Crystal. Mayor Jim Adams and I have become friends and I have the utmost respect for him as our mayor (for another 4 years!). I was also overjoyed to see Jeff Kolb, Casey Peak, Elizabeth Dahl, and Olga Parsons get elected and represent our great city. Seeing them all on the council together brought a tear to my eye I’m not ashamed to admit.

I have to say goodbye to some employees at Crystal as well. City Manager Ann Norris and I haven’t always agreed on issues but I have a new opinion of her since serving on the City Code Task Force. She’s been a pleasure to work with. City Planner and now Community Development Director John Sutter is a great example of a public servant. Working with him on the planning Commission was awesome.

I’m very proud of our Community Solutions group and how big of an impact we’ve had in this area. This all began with a dispute over a project on Highway 81 followed by a petition that was rejected by the old Crystal City Council (none of whom are there anymore) and over the past seven we’ve gained such a huge audience to the point we are the most watched and talked about blog in this area. We gained copy cats and even the people who hate us read what we are saying.

We’re not stopping, folks! In fact, we have plans to expand everywhere across the whole state! Look out Minnesota! I’ll be keeping my eye on Crystal and continuing to report what is going on so don’t worry I won’t be far away!

Tonight is the City Code Review Task Force meeting and that is my last act in Crystal. I bid you farewell!

Entry filed under: City Government, Community, Crystal. Tags: .

To Do a Resolution or Not? An Elected Met Council is No Better

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Dennis Holman  |  April 28, 2016 at 12:43 pm

    You can leave the City, knowing that you made a big, positive difference.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitter Updates

Archives


