You’re Here to Listen? Come on……

October 17, 2014 at 2:13 pm 1 comment


By Andrew Richter

OK I’ve watched all the candidate profiles for the three city council races in Crystal and I’m perplexed with what I heard from the three incumbents (you can go to the News 12  youtube channel to see them). All three of them go on and on about being responsive to citizens and listening to their concerns.

Now, I know during election time everyone cares, everyone listens, everyone is concerned but this is off the Richter Scale (not named after me). I can tell you first hand that I have emailed this city council steadily for the past 6 years and Mark Hoffman, Joe Selton, and John Budziszewski have never responded to my emails once! I know that these three don’t like me, that’s fine. I know they disagree with me on the issues, that’s fine also. But, perhaps in six years you could respond at least once?? Is that too much to ask? John Budziszewski is one of my “representatives” on top of that.

When my colleague Jason Bradley emailed the city about speeding on his street last summer, Mayor Jim Adams, Council Person Julie Deshler, and City Manager Anne Norris all responded to him and guess who didn’t; oh that’s right old Johnny B! All the while this guy takes credit for “traffic calming measures!” I guess he only cares about traffic if you vote for him!

I’ll say this too; even former Mayor ReNae Bowman despite her dislike of me, always responded to my emails even if the exchange was less than friendly. I can handle that though, what I can’t handle is the untruths about responsiveness.

By the way, I had a great time at the Light of Crystal event a few days ago. Thank you to Shawn Smith for his dedication in putting it on. It was also great to see Mayor Adams and Councilperson Deshler there. Council candidates Jeff Kolb and Olga Parsons also stopped by. I had a great conversation with former candidate Karen Lincoln. Missing in action were Hoffman, Selton, and Budziezewski. I don’t know why, but you’d think coming and chatting with a group a residents would be a good thing to do three weeks before an election seeing as they want to “listen to us.” Whatever……

 

 

Entry filed under: City Government, Community, Crystal, Mayor.

Mark Hoffman- “You’re Cash, And I’m Borrowing” In His Own Words Mark Hoffman’s Desperate Campaign Literature

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Josh  |  October 17, 2014 at 4:22 pm

    Well, Johnny B is DFL endoresed, so he has that going for him. Especially since this a non partisan race. Glad that he keeps flaunting that fact!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitter Updates

Archives


