See I Told You So…..

October 9, 2014 at 5:36 pm 2 comments


By Andrew Richter

Well, Mark Hoffman has responded to my charges that the incumbent city council candidates are using the YES 281 vote to help themselves, but before I get to his comments, here’s a little background;

I’m not arguing that people should vote for or against the referendum. Any attempt to claim otherwise is a lie. What I am arguing is that the three incumbents are using partisan things not relevant to their current jobs to get re-elected. I heard about Crystal city council members colluding with the Yes 281 crowd about three weeks ago. I had nothing linking the two together until I saw the work session agenda for October 9 so I went forward with the story.

By the way, I also have a source within the YES 281 crowd, so my enemies might want to watch what they say about me there…..

When I wrote my article alleging a collusion, it brought Mr. Hoffman out of hiding. His comments are in blue;

Mr. Richter, I take your first paragraph with double meanings and feel it is also quite appropo to bloggers who are high on there own positions or anti-positions.

I have no idea what that means. It’s nice to know that bloggers who break stories and keep voters informed are so well thought of. I guess I should just sit and watch Storage Wars or Ice Road Truckers and leave the work to you right?

I will save you some effort. I am the one who asked the city manager if the school district referendum was going to be on the agenda for discussion at our council meeting.I was informed Mayor Adams did not want it to be. So be it, at least it is a discussion that will happen at a work session and a consensus will be reached.

And why is that? What does this have to do with what you are elected to do? Maybe Mayor Adams wants to do the job he was elected to do not make political statements on city time?

I do not know if the mayor informed you that all elected officials in the School District were invited to meetings by Superintendent Sicoli to ask the cities for there help. Crystal Council has yet to have that discussion.

I haven’t spoken to Mayor Adams at all, but why are you obligated to help the school district? Isn’t it their job to “sell” a referendum? Does the school district endorse city initiatives?

As I am sure you already know, the surrounding communities have expressed there views on supporting strong schools. You are correct that the information in our packets was the school districts literature to promote the referendums. I have not seen anything in print that has opposed the referendum, so I am hoping you can forward it to Anne Norris by Thursday so we can all have the opportunity to discuss.

Mr. Hoffman it isn’t my job to do your research for you. I’m not telling you to vote yes or no. If you want me to do your research for you then you can pay my consulting fee. There’s plenty of anti-school stuff out there if you just look. My point is that you’re going to just take what the district says and decide on that like you did with Green Step. It isn’t due diligence. By the way, will any information change your mind?

Then came the petty ReNae Bowman like cheap shot;

I know as a Tea Party advocate you are not high on taxes being used for anything. As you well know, you once stated at a Council work session you were applying for a position at, if there was a pothole in front of your house, you should take the responsibility to fill it and not the city. I do not agree.

I never said any such thing. The only position I’ve ever applied for at a work session that Mr. Hoffman was at was the Charter Commission and I was asked about changes in the Charter. I talked about article 1,5, and 9 and never said a word about potholes. This is just an attempt to make me the issue and change the subject. Like I’ve said a million times to anyone who can read English, government has constitutional duties and responsibilities; and for local government it is police, fire, roads, parks, and water & sewer. Now I may disagree on how much we spend on these things or how much we pay employees or on how we pay for it at all (bonding, assessing, or on the budget) but that’s not the same thing and you know it.

The League of Women Voters is having a Informational meeting on the 8th at the School District Offices and I hope you can attend to learn all the facts or voice your opinion.

I’ve already watched board meetings on this, I know the district’s selling points and again, I don’t care if this is voted up or down. What I care about is candidates like you who are trying to use the Yes 281 vote to get yourself re-elected.

Everything is not always a conspiracy, one must ask the right question of the right people and not be afraid of the answer.

I didn’t say everything was a conspiracy, and if this is a conspiracy then you’re doing one bad job of conspiring.

Now, I don’t think I’m wrong on this and I’m making this judgment based on actions that I’ve seen. I’ve concluded the following;

Mark Hoffman, Joe Selton, and John Budziszewski are trying to use the DFL and the YES 281 vote to get themselves re-elected. Nothing else makes any sense. Mr. Hoffman if this is all false then where is your campaign website that states your positions and lists of accomplishments? Where is your facebook page where you can update people on your campaign and connect with people? I drove through your neighborhood today Mr. Hoffman and saw no yard signs for you, where are they? Are you out pounding on doors to try and get people’s votes?

Or are you sitting back hoping these labels do the work for you? It may work or it may not but quite frankly I’m baffled by this. Mr. Hoffman should, and to be honest he does, have a long list of accomplishments and reasons to re-elect him. Just because I disagree with his views doesn’t mean he has nothing to run on.

I don’t think I’m wrong about this, in fact, I think I’m uncomfortably close to the truth.

I will also say this; I don’t hate Mr. Hoffman at all. I once voted for him in fact (it was against ReNae but given that choice I’d vote for Mark again). I disagree with his votes and the way he is campaigning. I’m more then happy to continue a dialogue on this subject or any other for that matter.

To be continued……

 

Entry filed under: Agenda 21, City Government, Community, County, Crystal, Education, Mayor, Referendum, Robbinsdale, School Board, Taxation. Tags: , , , , .

Living Within Constraints New Hope To Jack Up Spending Over $600,000!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tom Karnowski  |  October 24, 2014 at 12:48 pm

    (I attempted to post the following comment on October 16, but for some reason it did not appear on the blog. So, here it is again. If it appears somewhere else on this blog, my apologies for the redundancy!)

    I may be missing the point of your Hoffman/Selton/Budziszewski diatribe, but if you’re accusing them of partaking in “partisan things not relevant to their current jobs”, I’m left to wonder if you truly understand the relationship of a school district to property values in the municipality it serves. There IS a strong relationship between a local school district, in this case District 281, and the cities it serves like Crystal. When a potential home-buyer shops for property in which to invest, the educational system servicing it is an exceedingly important factor in making that purchase. According to the National Association of Realtors states “Of all the local neighborhood amenities that can influence a buyer’s decision to purchase a home, proximity to good quality schools is one of the most influential..” (http://www.realtor.org/field-guides/field-guide-to-schools-and-the-home-buying-decision). A referendum that seeks to improve the quality of local schools should be of paramount importance to candidates of all stripes in municipal elections. The relationship is easy to understand. A good quality school district improves property values. It is therefore important to elect a city council candidate who not only understands the symbiotic relationship of quality schools and property values, but who actively and publicly support the improvement of the educational system servicing their community. Those candidates also know what the Wall Street Journal stated a few years back, “that even to buyers and owners who don’t have school-age children, good schools can ensure consistent demand for properties — and strong prices.” Candidates who get the relationship of strong schools to property values are a step ahead of candidates who don’t. So, if you want to know something important about Crystal City Council candidates, ask them if they favor the upcoming 281 referendum. A “yes” answer provides a little insight as to how much that candidate might wish to protect and enhance the values of the property you own in the city. Council members Budziszewski, Hoffman and Selton should be complimented, not condemned, for their support of the quality school district that serves the residents of their city.

    Reply
    • 2. John Wagner  |  October 30, 2014 at 1:14 pm

      When money is the motivating factor, one tends to find a lack of dignity.

      Mr Richter, thank you so much for your “diatribe.” I am not well versed enough to comment or debate further but I do believe that your viewpoint is shared by many such as myself.

      dig·ni·ty
      ˈ
      noun
      the state or quality of being worthy of honor or respect.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitter Updates

Archives


