Everything Is a Political Football

August 21, 2014 at 4:21 pm Leave a comment


By Andrew Richter

Now I know everything is political but we’ve reached a new level here in Crystal.

Crystal hasn’t had a council meeting in about a month and a lot has happened in that time. We had a debate, a primary election, and of course, my resignation from the Planning Commission. However, it wasn’t until the council meeting on August 19 that my resignation was to be accepted.

Now folks to be honest with you I had completely forgotten about it….that is until I watched the council meeting on August 19.

Mayor Jim Adams read out the Consent Agenda (which is a routine matter) and my resignation was number 4. Mark Hoffman made a motion to accept the agenda and Laura Libby seconded. Just then John Budziszewski made a motion to amend the Consent Agenda to remove number 4 (my resignation). The motion was immediately seconded by Joe Selton. Councilman Budziszewski offered no reasoning for doing this other than he wanted to “vote on it separately.”

The council did so and Budziszewski “abstained” from voting on my resignation. Interestingly, Selton voted to accept it. Why vote for a motion to vote on it separately and then accept it anyway? Perhaps this was coordinated?

OK maybe I’m getting a little paranoid here but, I don’t get it. What is controversial or what does someone hope to gain by “abstaining” from accepting a resignation? Oh well, I have to remember something; everything from here on out, every word said will be politicized, especially if it comes from me.

I just find it funny that they can’t even get through the Consent Agenda without politicizing it.

 

Entry filed under: City Government, Community, Crystal. Tags: , , , , .

Community Solutions MN Radio Podacst Ep 8 I Can’t Get Those Four Hours Back

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives


