A Strange Visit

July 16, 2014 at 8:30 am Leave a comment


by Jason Bradley

I was paid a surprise visit today by Crystal Councilmember, John Budziszewski, while he was out door knocking for re-election. I welcome anyone that is running and wants to chat to drop by, but I was somewhat stunned by Mr. Budziszewski’s arrival. He shook my hand, looked at me somewhat quizzical, and said “You look familiar… you’re Jason Bradley!” (I might be inferring the exclamation point here, as the proper punctuation sequence might more resemble this: :-/ -but I do hear that expression more than you think I might.)

I was somewhat taken aback at his next sentence, “Do you know you are supporting property tax increases with her sign in your yard?” Now, we here at Community Solutions MN have a storied history of not handing out endorsements of candidates, but this should infer that it was not John’s sign in my yard, but I had made a personal decision to support a female candidate that doesn’t share a last name with a former president. I couldn’t believe he tried to pull this on me, of all people! (After all, he knew whom he was speaking with.) I said, “C’mon, John, you and I both know the City Finance Department said that assessing the Mill and Overlay projects would cost more than putting it on property taxes. He said something about 60/40 that didn’t jive with what came from the Finance Department.

I told him that even if Mill and Overlay were added to the property taxes (the way road maintenance always used to be done here), the candidate I was supporting was making it a priority to cut spending from other parts of the budget. He then inferred that she was lying to me about that. How would he know? In fact, how would he know her position on Mill and Overlay funding? I can’t find his source online anywhere. Can you please share the source with me? The only other option I have is to believe that you are spreading unfounded lies about your opponent, because I know she never told you her position. If, however, you have the facts about her positions above, please share, and I will post them here.

I went on to say I had known her quite a while, and he replied, “Have fun with your thoughts”, and turned around and left, to which I replied, “have a nice day”. What a strange visit! I mean, not once did he refer to a letter I sent him and my other City Council members a few weeks ago with serious concerns about my neighborhood. Each other letter recipient has touched base with me, including City staff. Yet, John has never responded. It takes him feeling the pressure of a primary upset to come to my door, and he still doesn’t address my heartfelt concerns of two weeks ago?

His prompt departure left so many other questions unanswered: Why did he fight so hard against a citizen filling the citizen representative slot on the West Metro Fire Board? If he’s not in favor of extra spending, why did he vote for the solar panels on the Community Center? How is an assessment not a tax, merely because it’s not reflected in the budget? What are you doing to mitigate the negative effects of the changes to our neighborhood? We had so much more to discuss, Councilmember Budziszewski, and then you were gone. Oh, we hardly knew ye.

Entry filed under: City Government, Crystal. Tags: , , , , , , .

Destination City? District 281 Employees Cash In

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitter Updates

Archives


