DFL Field Organizer, Clint Eastwood Hater Now Writing for the Sun Post on Crystal and Robbinsdale

August 22, 2013 at 6:58 pm 1 comment


By Andrew Richter

As if we didn’t know how left the Sun Post is lurching, now it’s wide out in the open;

I’ve known I wanted to write for a living ever since I got an unexpected “A” on a paper in junior high and thought, “That was easy! And fun. Oh, dear.” It was the first step on a journey that would, eventually, get me an English and Philosophy degree from the College of Saint Benedict – Saint John’s University and a job as the “circulation manager” – a brilliant euphemism for “paper boy” – at the school’s newspaper.

While managing the paper’s circulation, I wrote what was, in hindsight, a pointlessly scathing review of the movie “Gran Torino” and turned it in to the editor, who ran it the following week. While gazing with an odd amount of pride at my unnecessary takedown of Clint Eastwood’s work, I got that same “this might actually be a thing I enjoy” feeling, and boldly focused my goal from “write for a living” to “write for a newspaper or something for a living, I guess.”

Yeah I bet you can act like Clint Eastwood……

I worked a series of jobs that were always next door to that goal: field organizer for the DFL, volunteer editor for an Icelandic-American newsletter and craft brewer who writes oh-so-clever Facebook statuses when he should be making sure the wort doesn’t boil over and fatally scald his coworkers – until I fell backwards into a real, paying job at the Perham Focus, a community newspaper two towns east of Detroit Lakes on Highway 10.

Field organizer for the DFL?

While there, I discovered how awesome it was to write articles, instead of mean-spirited diatribes about movies I had only seen once, on a weekly basis. There was just enough deadline stress to keep it fun and interesting, and I developed a passion for interviewing people who were passionate themselves about the close-knit Perham community and the events I was covering within it.

However, I also discovered how bad I am at living away from the Twin Cities, and my goal became “write for a newspaper or something for a living in the cities.”

So, a short 15 years after getting that first paper back, I have taken over as the community editor for the Crystal and Robbinsdale editions of the Sun Post. I officially write for a newspaper or something for a living in the cities, which is pretty exciting to a seventh-grader who mailed it in on a research paper about the Revolutionary War.

Judging from the series of “we’ll miss you!” emails I have sifted through, it won’t be easy to fill my predecessor Anna Woodwick’s shoes, but I think I’m up for the challenge. I look forward to working with teachers, community leaders, city officials and anyone else with a story to tell.

We’ll miss Anna too…..

Article

Entry filed under: City Government, Community, Crystal, Robbinsdale.

What Can We Do About Human Trafficking? DFL Sun Post Calls for No Tax Cuts

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Hannah  |  October 1, 2013 at 4:13 pm

    Whatever, Andy Richter…….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitter Updates

Archives


