Voters Speak in City Elections

November 9, 2012 at 5:25 pm 1 comment

Well, the dust has settled, and people are finally starting to get on with their lives. Another election is in the books, and the voters have spoken. How have thing changed? What can we expect over the next couple of years? Let’s take a look:  

Crystal holds the title for the most turnover. Long time incumbent Dave Anderson of Section 1 was ousted in the primary, so the fight over the following months was between Guy Mueller and Laura Libby. Laura ended up pulling out the win by 81 votes (2666/2585).

While Julie Deshler (Ward 4) kept her seat in an unopposed race, Ward 3 Councilwoman Janet Moore decided to retire this year. That left an open seat where Casey Peak soundly defeated the very (almost too) organized write-in campaign of Jennifer Sodd.

In the Main Event… we had the contentious battle between incumbent ReNae Bowman and Jim Adams. Jim Adams won this race by 368 votes. If we look at the precinct breakdown, the biggest losses for Mayor Bowman occurred in the precincts adjacent to the controversial County Road 81 project, the new NW Family Physicians building, and recent road reconstruction projects (over 300 votes). Coincidence? Who knows for sure.

New Hope’s elections were a lot less exciting (at least for the casual observer).  Mayor Kathi Hemken kept her seat in an unopposed race. At-Large Council members Eric Lammle (25%) and Andy Hoffe (36%) retained their positions over challengers Malinda Longen (21%) and David Perlman (16%).

Plymouth saw no turnover either, as Judy Johnson (Ward 1) and Bob Stein (Ward 3) ran unopposed. Incumbent, Jeff Wosje (Ward 2), defeated Ned Carroll (5498/3128). Jim Willis (At-Large) was victorious over challenger Dan Waltenberg (18002/10800).

Robbinsdale saw Regan Murphy beat current Ward 3 Council-member George Selman for the Mayor’s seat vacated by Michael Holtz (3591/3396). In Ward 1, William Blonigan retained his seat for another term over Barbara Richardson (948/646). Incumbent, Dan Rogan (Ward 2), ran an uncontested race to hold on to his seat.

In other local elections, Hennepin County Commissioner, Mike Opat (District 1) held on to defeat Chris Rains (35,075/28,146). Linda Higgins won her race against Blong Yang (41, 935/28,115) to fill the empty District 2 seat left by Mark Stenglein.  Jeff Johnson (District 7) won his unopposed race.

3 Rivers Park District saw the election of Penny Steele, Jennifer DeJournett and Daniel Freeman. Hennepin County Soil and Water seats went to Jeremy Haefs, Marjorie Holsten, Richard Strong, and Danny Nadeau. Sherry Tyrell (26%) and Helen Bassett (25%) were re-elected to the School Board of District 281, while John Vento (23%) filled the seat vacated by Barb Van Heel. In the local contested judges race, Elizabeth Cutter beat out Steve Antolak.

There you have it. Congratulations to all of the winners. Thank you for caring enough to participate to those that didn’t pull off a win. While incumbents seemed to keep most of their seats, all bets seem to be off in Crystal. Is this a one-time referendum on a City that has acted without regard to the voice of their residents, or will it continue? Will this stay isolated, or spread to the surrounding cities? Only time will tell. Stay tuned-in here for a front row seat!


Entry filed under: City Government, County, Crystal, Hennepin, Mayor, New Hope, Plymouth, Robbinsdale, Three Rivers Park District. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

The Localist Papers- Part 9- Conclusion Has Your Local Law Enforcement Been Infiltrated By DHS?

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Paul Seefeld  |  November 10, 2012 at 4:22 am

    What about Marc Berris?


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed

#mc_embed_signup{background:#fff; clear:left; font:14px Helvetica,Arial,sans-serif; } /* Add your own MailChimp form style overrides in your site stylesheet or in this style block. We recommend moving this block and the preceding CSS link to the HEAD of your HTML file. */

Twitter Updates


%d bloggers like this: